Since becoming vegan, I’ve wondered if Soda’s are vegan and I’ve found mixed responses on the Internet. Some say yes other’s say no. I found this post from 2007 http://veganism.livejournal.com/1110811.html which says Coke products (at least the sodas) are vegan. The post is nearly 5 years old and manufacturers change their ingredients over time so I decided to email Coke.

They responded fairly quickly with the response below. Please read keegan’s post on LiveJournal for additional info. So, at least in the U.S. Coca Cola sodas are still o.k. for vegans to drink.

You may want to stay away from them for other reasons though. I heard they can unclog a drain and restore a penny to its original shininess. Also see www.killercoke.org.

—–Original Message—–
From: Coca-Cola Support [mailto:cocacolasupport@na.ko.com]
Sent: Monday, March 19, 2012 11:03 AM
To: ***********@*****.com
Subject: Coca-Cola Web Response

Thank you for contacting The Coca-Cola Company, Mr. Joshua.  We appreciate the opportunity to respond to your inquiry.

Except the products that contain cochineal (which is listed on the label), and the products that contain milk (which is also indicated on the label), brands of The Coca-Cola Company in the United States do not contain any ingredient derived from animals.

However, some of our juice products contain Vitamin D3, which is derived from lanolin.  Lanolin is a natural oil in the fiber of sheep’s wool.  It is separated from the wool after the sheep’s hair is cut (sheared).  Lanolin oil is obtainable without harming the sheep but may be an issue for strict vegetarians.

Additionally, some of our suppliers use a common industry practice for grape juice clarification that does involve animal by-products. The gelatin used to clarify the juice is made from bovine skin.

In the U.S., the only Coca-Cola brand products that are currently produced with cochineal are Minute Maid Juices To Go Ruby Red Grapefruit Drink, Jugos Del Valle Strawberry Banana Juice Nectar, and Jugos Del Valle Strawberry Juice Nectar.

The only currently manufactured Coca-Cola brand products that contain milk are Far Coast (World of Coca-Cola only), FUZE Refresh, and Minute Maid Fruit and Creme Swirls.

We hope this information is helpful.  Please feel free to contact us again.

Industry and Consumer Affairs
The Coca-Cola Company

Please use the Record number below should you have additional questions.


Original Text
From:  ********@*****.com
To:  coca-cola.support@p67ix100.na.ko.co
Sent:  03/19/12 17:16:52
Subject:  Coca-Cola Web Form

Comments: I was wondering if Coca-Cola, Cherry Coke, or any other of your soft drinks contain animal products or animal by products such as sugar treated with bone char. thank you. Joshua
** End of Comments **
Site ID: vRep-ProductForm
Timestamp: 03/19/2012 17:08:12
IP Address: xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
Hostname: (none)
Title: First Name: Joshua
Last Name: Cuellar
E-mail Address: ********@*****.com
Zip Code:
Country: United States
Phone Number:
Age: 25-34
Birth Date:
Can We Contact: Y
Send You Promotions: N
Brand Advertised:
Which Network, Program or Magazine:
When Did You See the Ad:
Taste Code:
Store Location:


Thank you Jennifer Kaplan for the reference and making the internet a better place.